Why two deadlines? See FAQ


Submission deadline:

title, abstract, authors,

subcommittee choices, and other metadata


Materials upload deadline: submission files


12 OCTOBER 2016


Doctoral Consortium

Interactivity: Installations


11 JANUARY 2017

Late-Breaking Work

Interactivity: Demonstrations


Case Studies


SIG Meetings

Video Showcase

CHI Stories


13 JANUARY 2017

Student Design Competition

Student Game Competition

Student Research Competition


15 JANUARY 2017



18 JANUARY 2017

Art Program


Conference Chairs

Gloria Mark, University of California, Irvine

Susan Fussell, Cornell University


Assistants to General Chairs

Yiran Wang, University of California, Irvine

Ge Gao, Cornell University


Senior Technical Program Chair

Cliff Lampe, University of Michigan


Technical Program Chair

m.c. schraefel, University Southampton


Assistant to the Technical Program Chairs

Lindsay Blackwell, University of Michigan


Papers Chairs

Caroline Appert, Univ. Paris-Sud & CNRS

Juan Pablo Hourcade, University of Iowa

Daniel Wigdor, University of Toronto


Assistant to Papers Chairs

Michael Glueck, University of Toronto


alt.chi Chairs

Karrie Karahalios, University of Illinois at Urbana – Champaign

Jessa Lingel, University of Pennsylvania

Janet Vertesi, Princeton University


Case Studies Chairs

Stephen Snow, University of Southampton

Jessica Tsimeris, Google


Courses Chairs

Erik Andersen, Cornell University

Hilary Hutchinson, Google

Max Wilson, University of Nottingham


Demos Chairs

Ido Guy, Yahoo

Stephen Voida, University of Colorado Boulder


Doctoral Consortium Chairs

Anna Cox, University College London

Jeff Bigham, Carnegie Mellon University

Kenton O’Hara, Microsoft Research, UK


Interactive Installations Chairs

Adrian Friday, Lancaster University

Shengdong Zhao, National University of Singapore


Late Breaking Work Chairs

Sharon Ding, Fudan University

Ingrid Erikson, Rutgers University

Bryan Semaan, Syracuse University

Fanis Tsandilas, INRIA


Panels Chairs

Sarita Schoenebeck, University of Michigan

Jude Yew, National University of Singapore


Student Design Competition Chairs

Joonhwan Lee, Seoul National University

Scott Minneman, California College of Arts


Student Game Competition Chairs

Floyd Mueller, RMIT University

Josh Tanenbaum, University of California, Irvine


Student Research Competition Chairs

Jeremy Birnholtz, Northwestern University

Jenn Thom, Spotify


Special Interest Groups Chairs

Lindsay Reynolds, Facebook

Bert Scerbo, Disney


Systems Chairs

Michael Stewart, Virginia Tech

Dorota Filipczuk, University of Southampton


Video Showcase Chairs

Danyel Fisher, Microsoft Research

Catherine Letondal, ENAC


Workshops Chairs

Duncan Brumby, University College London

Christopher Frauenberger, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Shamsi Iqbal, Microsoft Research


Art Chairs

Jiffer Harriman, University of Colorado

Andruid Kerne, Texas A&M University

HyunJoo Oh, University of Colorado Boulder

Thecla Schiphorst, Simon Fraser University


CHI Stories Chairs

Nazanin Andalibi, Drexel University

Nick Diakopoulos, University of Maryland, College Park

Andrea Forte, Drexel University

Misa Maruyama, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Scott Robertson, University of Hawaii at Manoa


Career Development Workshop Chairs

Luigina Ciolfi, Sheffield Hallam University

Michael Muller, IBM Research


Journals Chair (To Social Computing)

David McDonald, University of Washington


Remix Chairs

Susan Dray, Dray & Associates

Amy Voida, University of Colorado Boulder


Student Volunteer Chairs

Patrick Carrington, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)

Anna Kötteritzsch, Universität der Bundeswehr München


Video Previews Chair

Carla Griggio, Inria


Awards Chair

Steven Drucker, Microsoft


Accessibility Chairs

Erin Brady, Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis

Sean Goggins, Missouri University

Shaun Kane, University of Colorado Boulder


Data Chair

Boyu Gao, Konkuk University

Toni-Jan Keith Monserrat, University of the Philippines Los Baños


Diversity and Inclusivity Lunch Chairs

Anke Brock, Inria Bordeaux

Allison Druin, University of Maryland

Gopinaath Kannabiran, Indiana University, Bloomington


Language Inclusion Chair

Tilman Dingler, University of Stuttgart


Local Arrangements Chairs

Jed Brubaker, University of Colorado Boulder

Tom Yeh, University of Colorado Boulder


Social Impact Chairs

Kathy Baxter, Salesforce

Elizabeth Gerber, Northwestern University

Jill Woelfer, Google


Social Media Chairs

Dan Afergan, Google

Bart Knijnenburg, Clemson University

Vicky McArthur, University of Toronto Mississauga


Telepresence Chairs

Min Kyung Lee, Carnegie Mellon University

Carman Neustaedter, Simon Fraser University


Translations Chairs

Hao-Chuan Wang, National Tsing Hua University

Naomi Yamashita, Nippon Telegraph and Telephone


Design Director

Donghee Yvette Wohn, New Jersey Institute of Technology


Logo Design/Artwork

Jia Zhang, MIT Media Lab


Web Designer

Xiying Wang, Cornell University



Nitesh Goyal, Cornell University


ACM Liaison

Farrah Khan, ACM


CMC Liaison

Scooter Morris, University of California, San Francisco


Conference Manager

Janeé Pelletier, Conference & Logistics Consultants, Inc.


Logistics Manager

Allison Perrelli, Conference & Logistics Consultants, Inc.



Bobby Beaton



Taylor Vick, Executive Events, Inc.


Sponsorship and Exhibits

Carol Klyver, Foundations of Excellence


Technical Liaison

Sara Drenner, BI WORLDWIDE





CHI registration is open!

CHI housing is open!


CHI Stories are what come after “Really? I'd love to hear more about that.”


"I'll Be Watching You"



© copyright 2017 | ACM SIGCHI